View Full Version : Autographed 8x10's from Taiwan?? POST #17 - Great News Story
slinger256
07-28-2008, 08:26 PM
Have any of you ever purchased any of these 8x10 Auto Photo's from the sellers overseas. This ebayer in particular seems to do well.......
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZpaper0880
I know there are a couple of sellers from that region who deal in these. Why the huge inventory of auto's from over there?
LasVegas
07-28-2008, 08:30 PM
Have any of you ever purchased any of these 8x10 Auto Photo's from the sellers overseas. This ebayer in particular seems to do well.......
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZpaper0880
I know there are a couple of sellers from that region who deal in these. Why the huge inventory of auot's from over there?
They're fake.
BlakChamber
07-28-2008, 08:30 PM
Why the huge inventory? Because they're fake.
slinger256
07-28-2008, 08:31 PM
They're fake.
Is that a prediction or do you have some concrete evidence?
lwagner57
07-28-2008, 09:17 PM
Well when the person is selling a Marino/Manning autographed 8x10 for only 100.00 and also just so happens to have autographs of the biggest sports stars for well below what they usually sell for should give you more then enough evidence thats its fake.
LasVegas
07-28-2008, 09:29 PM
Is that a prediction or do you have some concrete evidence?
Its simple, look at what he has, has had, nothing is authenticated, he is overseas where he does not have access to all of those players, even if he was here in the states he would not have that kind of inventory of autographs with none of the items having a players Holograph or 3rd part COA of anykind. Its common sense.
supermark_2875
07-28-2008, 09:33 PM
Plus,no mention of who the COA is through or a pic of the COA. The Favre looks like a fake my buddy bought 6-8 months ago,he ended up "Googling" the COA company and a ton of returns came back linking them to fakes.
DMM77
07-28-2008, 09:46 PM
Is that a prediction or do you have some concrete evidence?
He doesn't have concrete evidence, but he's making a very good asumption. If you want to get some autographed photos, get them from a reputable source like Upper Deck Authenticated, that way you'll be 99% sure it's real. If you want to be 100% sure, get them in person.
Chewdeezy
07-28-2008, 09:47 PM
If its too good to be true, then it probably is.
Vandy58
07-28-2008, 10:15 PM
Just send me half of his buy it know and I will get you the same thing!
Vandy58
07-28-2008, 10:17 PM
Only autos I have ever purchased on ebay came with a MM, UD, PSA/DNA, Tri star, Steiner authenticated! I do not care if they have 1,000,000 positive rep. It is to easy to dup auto's these days.
SeattleMariners51445
07-28-2008, 10:22 PM
Those are pretty nice fakes though.
Konger82
07-28-2008, 11:00 PM
Just send me half of his buy it know and I will get you the same thing!
what he said...
are you new? why would you even consider buying anything from that guy?
slinger256
07-29-2008, 05:02 AM
I just dumped 4 months salary into his auctions. I think I may be screwed.
Give me a break guys. Just wanted to get some talk going on the subject. An awareness of sorts.
mcarey032
07-29-2008, 09:55 AM
The Brett Favre and Steve Young looks pretty good. It is very possible that they are fakes, but I will say that if the guy is forging or has some sort of autopen template, it is really a good job on that particular photo.
bigjake62505
07-29-2008, 10:07 AM
Wasn't there a article posted here a few months ago about the massive amount of fake auto's that were on ebay and other sites? The police or whatever collected thousands of fake autos and charged the guy with something. All he did was hire a artist and have him copy the autographs of real athletes. If I were you and I was going to get a autograph of my favorite athlete I would get it through a legit company with legit certification. Stay far away from Ebay unless you don't care about it being real.
Leafsfan1967
07-29-2008, 10:33 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=L2gPS50-Wfs
pellegrino6587
07-29-2008, 10:47 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=L2gPS50-Wfs
dang
right between the eyes
07-29-2008, 10:59 AM
The games biggest stars have been doing this for over 7 years now. This is the only way to get a pristine perfect autograph every time.
I think this machine saves Tiger Woods, Micheal Jordan, Wayne Gretzky, Bobby Orr, Sydney Crosby many hours per week so they don't have to sit at a table for hours on end signing photos and jersey numbers, etc.. just to satisfy collectors.
The product comes exclusively through a representative/promotional agent of the players involved.
Look no further than the supplier......ask yourself, why don't we see guys like Gretzky, Yzerman, Orr, M.Lemieux at Frozen Pond signing even once a year.
The product arrives at whomever is the distributer (Frame worth for Crosby) and images are then framed or the Numbers are applied to the jerseys.
The only proof that you need is to compare the autograph that he signed for you personally, and the one that you put your hard earned cash into. If you look at both you'll notice they're noticeably different.
At the end of the day the Hologram has more value than the signature.
Safest places to buy are in house signed only.....Frozen Pond, Steiner are two i can think of.
If i were those companies i would distance myself from these exclusive agent only signed products.
slinger256
07-29-2008, 11:37 AM
Just send me half of his buy it know and I will get you the same thing!
Send me your PayPal addy
slinger256
07-29-2008, 11:38 AM
are you new?
Born yesterday......
tvp2003
07-29-2008, 11:44 AM
I'd like to think I'm pretty good at recognizing legit signatures for a lot of those athletes (Aikman, Young, Favre, Montana, Marino, to name a few), and I have to say those look pretty good (even though they are probably not, based on what was stated above).
Something I noticed is how many autos were signed using the same (or similar) slightly faded fine blue marker...
Vandy58
07-29-2008, 11:45 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=L2gPS50-Wfs
I saw that when it was new. That is crazy and that proves my point. Sometimes not even the 100% guys can get screwed, ie UD! Most of my autos come in person, but when I do go ebay or others it is always known trusted authenticators. I have never purchased a dead guy either! For a long time the only way to get mantle was through mantle himself. I remember he used to have a show on home shopping and he would sell that stuff like mad!
I am lucky enough to have a ball signed by the 1962 Yankees. It was signed in person and passed down from my father to me!
quiggle
07-29-2008, 11:48 AM
http://www.frangipaniforensics.com/
quiggle
07-29-2008, 11:48 AM
http://www.operationbullpen.com/images/cover.jpg
Vandy58
07-29-2008, 11:57 AM
http://www.frangipaniforensics.com/
LOL nice office. :rolleyes:
PSA made a mistake on a name. NOBODY is perfect!
Voodoo Chylde
07-29-2008, 01:31 PM
LOL nice office. :rolleyes:
PSA made a mistake on a name. NOBODY is perfect!
Bro, you've gotta admit that's a pretty damn big mistake!
Thanks for sharing that Real Sports video! After seeing that, if UD, PDA/DNA and other reputable COA providers can be fooled, I'll just stick to what I see signed with my own browns.
Konger82
07-29-2008, 03:10 PM
Born yesterday......
I am sorry to hear that :) but if I were you I would file a complaint with Paypal/eBay and try to see if he will refund you..
icee82
07-29-2008, 03:22 PM
We have problems getting autos when we live very close to the various sports venues. How does some guy in Taiwan have access to all of this? There is probably very little chance of him ever being brought to justice taking into consideration his location. Anybody with a lot of time on their hands and evil intentions can forge signatures. All you have to do is study the auto and practice on some paper. You can even trace from an overhead projector and get it almost letter perfect. Anything too good to be true is always too true.
ChargerChris
07-29-2008, 03:45 PM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=L2gPS50-Wfs
great video. that's why I usually only purchase graded auto cards
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.